Review: Dirty English

Posted: 12/10/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , ,

Dirty English
Dirty English by Ilsa Madden-Mills
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: sexual assault, violence, attempted murder, blackmail, drugs, alcohol, sex

I received a free ARC of this in exchange for a fair and honest review

The first thing I need to address is the sexual assault thing. Along with drugs and alcohol. This literally happens in the prologue. It does get referenced a few times in the story. If this is a thing that bothers you, either don’t read this book OR make sure you are in a good place (mentally and physically) to be able to read it.

The violence is pretty much granted since Declan is a street fighter. If that is a thing that bothers you, the same warning as above applies to you as well. They’re not things that are just mentioned once or twice. They’re actual scenes in the book.

Now that I’ve done my warnings, after I dealt with my own self care for the first thing and got in a better place this was a very enjoyable book. I’ve mentioned before, I ADORE Pride and Prejudice re-imaginings. So this book was right up my alley.

There was a particular quote that caught my attention and made me go “yes. this is exactly it”.

“Love is never perfect, in fact, it’s the exact opposite of perfect, but that’s okay, because it gives you room to grow and explore.”

That was the quote. And I think that’s the exact way to describe love. Also people.

One thing that did bother me was the whole describing her with almond shaped eyes. I mean I get what the author is trying to say but it bothers me due to racist implications.

Blake and her mother both pissed me off. Her mum more than Blake but also both in different ways. None of which I can really talk about without spoiling parts of the book.

The whole thing with the ex trying to manipulate Declan into getting back together with him was annoying too. Especially the part where she blatantly lies to him about something he’s gone through just to try and get him to feel sorry for her and spend time with her.

All in all, this was a very enjoyable fluffy book. That you should probably read. Especially if you like romances.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] consider to be classics). I very much enjoyed this. In fact I enjoyed it more than the first book, Dirty English. This one was inspired by Romeo and Juliet. However, even had I not read the first one (and/or […]

    Like

  2. […] series(Ilsa Madden-Mills) Dirty English Content warnings: sexual assault, violence, attempted murder, blackmail, drugs, alcohol, sex […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

