Review: The Girl on the Train

Posted: 15/10/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

The Girl on the Train
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: abuse, violence, mentions of death, alcohol use, alcohol abuse, self defense killing, victim blaming

Before I go too far, I’m not joking about this. If you have issues with alcohol, any at all, TREAD CAREFULLY. Alcohol use and abuse is heavily featured in this book.

I liked the switching off of the perspectives and how each chapter clearly stated WHO’S perspective we were looking at. It made it very easy to follow.

I did suspect something was off with Rachel’s ex. What I wasn’t sure but something just felt off. I’m not saying that people when they’re drunk CAN’T act like he accused her of acting (because they can and do sometimes) but hearing her recollections with what HE said just didn’t add up.

The abuse that I reference in my content warnings is emotional/mental for the most part and very little physical. Which doesn’t make it any less abusive or damaging to the person who suffers under that abuse. I think the author portrayed that very well. Showing how much Rachel second guessed her own memories after everything started clicking into place. That hit home really hard for me because that is exactly what I do all the time ever since my last abusive relationship. And it’s nice to see that it happens to others (even if they’re just fictional characters) and makes it feel like you’re not losing your mind.

All in all this was a pretty good book.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

