Review: The Prophecy

Posted: 15/10/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Prophecy
The Prophecy by Jerry Rabushka
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Content warnings: paedophilia,violence, mentions of death, gay relationships

I received a free ARC of this in exchange for a fair and honest review from Netgalley.

I CAN’T even begin with how much I didn’t enjoy this book. I mean it was more or less fine. Until the 14 year old boy and the 34 year old man pairing. At about that point I had to put this down and walk away for a bit which was about 60% of the way through the book.

Talking about religions isn’t really a thing I enjoy talking/reading about. So a lot of this book was by definition kind of boring for me any time they started talking about the new religion that they were trying to make hold.

I thought this book would be better than it was. I really honestly did. But a lot of it was very dull and dry. It had bits and pieces that were really good especially the relationship Lex had with the older former soldier. That was a very nice and heartbreaking one. Particularly this line:

“I hope you will not hurt me tonight ,” Kavathor said. “This body of mine hasn’t much left to it, but I would like a gentle touch one more time.”

And then a page later there was this quote that added into it:

In the darkness, Lex could see Kavathor was grateful for companionship and a touch of strength that would not hurt.

Those two lines just absolutely slayed me. And consequently were the best parts of the book.

I can’t in good conscience actually recommend this book to people though.

Buy it here:

Amazon(US)|Amazon(UK)|Amazon(FR)|Barnes & Noble|Google Play|Bold Strokes Books

Tell me stuff

