Review: The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Posted: 24/10/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Content warnings: gay relationships, drug use, alcohol use, mental illnesses, mention of death, mentions of molestation

So I’ve heard a lot about how great this book is suppose to be. And frankly, I just didn’t find it that great. I did like how the concept of safe sex was talked about and the whole consent topic was handled. Those were handled wonderfully.

The openness and ok with the fact that his friend is gay was pretty great. But the rest of it was just kind of meh. I’ve never taken LSD or used marijuana but from all the accounts in this book and talking to people who have, I never want to nor do I have the desire to do so.

There’s a lot that is alluded to as far as his aunt goes but nothing is ever said apart from her past.

It was a decent enough read but not something I’d generally recommend though.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|MTV books

Tell me stuff

