Review: All the Rage

Posted: 28/10/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

All the Rage
All the Rage by Courtney Summers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: rape, victim blaming, death mention, bullying, death attempt

Ok so I’m a fan of Courtney Summers. Huge fan of her and her books. She writes the type of books that I wish existed when I was a teenager.

This book tore me to pieces. With how the main character was treated by her classmates and everyone else. And how the town reacted to everything. And how ostracised she was. Small towns like how the one she was in tend to piss me off because of the politics of the town.

I hate all the victim blaming and telling her that she’s basically the girl who cried rape because it “didn’t” happen. I know it’s a common thing to assume and do and it bothers me.

This book hit me so hard with how true some of it felt. As a person who’s gone through the whole “you’re making it up” with rape accusations. This book just….ALL THE FEELINGS. I mean it has a freaking awesomely gorgeous cover and just gets things that I actually have minorly gone through (never the death threats or attempts or the telling law enforcement and being ostracised from town but from friends definitely). But just….I LOVE THIS BOOK AND EVERYONE SHOULD READ IT.

This was a fantastic book though. Everything was handled more or less decently. But I would definitely recommend this book.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

