Review: Harlot

Posted: 04/11/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Harlot
Harlot by Victoria Dahl
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: sex, abuse, manipulation, slut shaming, wh*rephobia, violence

I received a free ARC of this in exchange for a fair and honest review from NetGalley.

So, this is the first book I’ve ever read from Victoria Dahl. I originally read the first chapter on her website and then immediately went and pre-ordered this book. Best decision I’ve ever made. I fell in love with that first chapter. And the only reason I ever read it or even knew about it was because a few authors I follow on twitter tweeted about it.

The writing in this story is very well done. I’m not big on the slut shaming or the wh*rephobia but within the context of this book and about when it’s set, I can understand it and it winds up working well.

I feel sorry for both main characters. One put into circumstances beyond her control and the other trying to do what he felt was right. Both of them for having misinformation from the same people about each other to serve the self serving interests of one character who I really wanted to kill because he’s a pretentious asshole.

For the first book of an author, this was pretty great and very enjoyable. The setting was well described and didn’t fall into the problem that some authors have of not being wordy enough or being too wordy (*coughcoughtolkiencoughcough* even though I love him he’s still very wordy at times). The characters felt like real people and the situations felt real enough, straight down to white man falling for black woman and not marrying for reasons of racism and stuff.

I’d definitely recommend this book to people who enjoy reading and don’t mind books with sex.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Kobo|iBooks |Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

