Review: Match Me Later

Posted: 11/11/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Match Me Later
Match Me Later by Rachael Slate
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content Warnings: sex, violence, mentions of death

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review from the author.

Ok I’ll confess. I’ve never read a Rachael Slate book before this one. But I REALLY enjoyed it. Even though it’s a novella in between books 2 and 3. But honestly, in my opinion, you don’t need to read the rest of the series to enjoy this book. It works well as a standalone book.

I was initially wary because the author is white and writing on Chinese zodiac/religious beliefs. But reading that the author is married to a person of Chinese-Malaysian descent made me a little bit more ok. In general though, I’m not big on white people writing about cultural beliefs/religions that they are not a part of but that’s just me.

From what I vaguely know, she got the idea behind fox spirits accurate but there’s also a lot I don’t know so I’m not the best person to make that determination.

I enjoyed the story and have gone back and forth between adding a content warning for torture because of the fox spirits they found and rescued but I’m still as yet undecided. So fair warning there is the implication of torture in this story.

I like that the mystery of what the “beast inside of him” is revealed to what it actually is after everything happens. Even though she tells you before hand. Though I feel kind of bad for that poor little dragon that didn’t really know any better.

The sex is pretty hot sounding even though a lot of it isn’t described except for the aftermath. I really did enjoy this though. So I’d definitely recommend it.

Buy it here:

Amazon

Comments
  1. […] warnings for the series: sex, heterosexual romance Trancing the Tiger Rematch By the Horns Match Me Later¬†Content warnings: sex, violence, mentions of […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

