Review: The Brontë Plot

Posted: 15/11/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

The Brontë Plot
The Brontë Plot by Katherine Reay
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: mentions of a con man, lying, manipulation, mentions of death, mentions of cancer

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review from NetGalley.

Ok so first off I have to say I had some serious problems with the formatting. But I did send a note to the author to pass onto her team to try and get that fixed (basically words were switched around in funky orders and stuff). However, it didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the story. And I know that ARCs are very unfinished so that’s just a note that it happened.

This was very interesting and good. I LOVED that the main character wasn’t shown as being perfect. And that she owned up to her mistakes AND was shown to work on fixing them and accepting the consequences of such. That was my favourite part of this book. I like characters that are fallible humans. It makes it easier to connect with them.

I was glad to see the scenes with her dad and her and her coming to her realisation of who he really is and how he influenced her growing up.

I especially liked that her and her romantic interest shared a love of literature that wasn’t just the popular quotes from popular literature. I mean most anyone can repeatedly quote the scene of Darcy admitting to Elizabeth his love for her and his initial disdain for her. Because Pride and Prejudice is a very popular book and popularly quoted. But outside of literature majors and people who tend to read the classics more not everyone can tell you how many Brontë sisters there are. Or what each one wrote. Or get into a discussion of their books (heck I can barely do most of those but that’s for lack of reading them yet).

I also liked the interactions between her and her boss. They had a good working relationship. Even after she admitted her faults to him.

This is one of those books that I would definitely recommend that everyone get and read.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Harper Collins(AU)

Tell me stuff

