Review: Unbound – Colours of Love

Posted: 13/12/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Unbound - Colours of Love
Unbound – Colours of Love by Kathryn Taylor

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

 

Content Warnings: sex, girl on girl hate, violence, alcohol use, attempts of coercion

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and unbiased review from NetGalley.

This book comes in the area of a lot of writers trying to write the next 50 shades of grey. I’m sorry but it’s true. However, this is miles better than 50sog.

Even unedited this is better. Yeah typical young virgin girl meets older more experienced rich guy and falls for him. He’s resistant to relationships and she makes it her goal to try and change his mind.

That is the basic summary of this book. Variations of this book from the typical summary above include a smart (and actually SHOWN to be smart not just told a lot that she’s smart) American female who gets the highly coveted internship with a British company.

I ADORED the fact that it wasn’t just repeatedly thrown in your face with the book telling you “trust me she’s very smart” and not showing that. It was actually shown that she was smart. And especially the fact that she was majoring in economics which is still a largely male driven industry.

I didn’t care that much for Jonathan. I didn’t care about his issues with his dad or how over protective he was of his sister. Nor did I like how he treated Grace. The whole hot one minute and ice cold the next.

The book was pretty well written though. That is something that I will definitely admit to despite my few problems with it. I really did not like the Japanese business man, Yuuto. A lot of things about how he was portrayed just threw up a lot of red flags in my head. And I’m not entirely sure if some of it was because it almost felt like a kind of racist caricature but I can’t point to specific passages to back that up. It was just something that nagged at the back of my mind the entire time I read this book.

It was definitely a good book that I’d recommend.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Google Play|iBooks|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] of Love Series(Kathryn Taylor) Content warnings for the series: heterosexual romance Unbound Content Warnings: sex, girl on girl hate, violence, alcohol use, attempts of coercion […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

