Review: Always Running: La Vida Loca: Gang Days in L.A

Posted: 29/12/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Always Running: La Vida Loca: Gang Days in L.A
Always Running: La Vida Loca: Gang Days in L.A by Luis J. Rodríguez

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: drug use, drug abuse, alcohol use, alcohol abuse, violence, gang violence, death mention, racism, police violence, racial slurs, sex, death, murder

This was an absolute fantastic book to read. I’ve never really fully understood all the race and gang violence/wars that are in LA mostly because news wise it’s horribly biased and skewed towards white people always being the heroes.

It was very refreshing to read someone’s first hand account of what they personally lived through that’s not through the seemingly rose coloured glasses of white saviourism. And it was honestly painful to read. For multiple reasons. Mostly because it really caused me to stop and think about how I currently and in the past have treated other races and the ignorance I have towards members of other races. And caused me to seriously look at America and how we skew history in favour of us white people.

But this isn’t a review about me or my life. This is a review about another person’s life entirely. A person who didn’t grow up with my privilege or resources and who both our legal and school system were against from the start without any understanding or compassion towards them or people like them.

And I can emphasise greatly with the fact that he fears for his son and doesn’t want him to take the same path he himself did. I can also deeply respect that.

This is a book that I would highly recommend to everyone. First/second/third/etc generation Latinx, black, Asian, European, white American (and non white American), indigenous people of North and South America, South American, African, Australian, etc. It’s a very eye opening book for everyone (especially white people).

The book is well written and doesn’t jump all over the place time wise which was really nice. Since I’ve read some non fiction books that take place both in present and past that have jumped between the two that sometimes don’t seem to make sense this was a huge breath of fresh air. It starts and closes with the present of the book but the meat of the book is all just straight past.  And linear past. Which is always great in any kind of non fiction book.

I definitely recommend it to everyone.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Simon & Schuster|Google Play|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

