Review: Lawless

Posted: 29/12/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , ,

Lawless
Lawless by T.M. Frazier

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: drug use, drug abuse, alcohol use, alcohol abuse, sodomy, attempted rape, physical abuse, gendered slurs, sex, violence, attempted death, death, matricide, attempted filicidemariticide

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

As I haven’t read the prior two books in the series, I kind of came into this story blind. All I knew was that this was a motorcycle club book.

I need to start this out with I’m not big on motorcycle club books. I don’t like how they tend to treat women. But YMMV.

Despite my lack of enjoyment for motorcycle club novels I was actually surprised to find myself really enjoying it.

However, I would have LOVED a content warning stating the attempted rape/sodomy thing. Because that set me back almost a month for the review and a week or two with reading it. It is a serious thing that I STRONGLY advocate for thanks to the fact that when I blindly walk into (or read into) a scene like that that I get to relive my own experiences on repeat for varying periods of time.

Besides that fact, it was engrossing enough that I would definitely read the next book and read the prior two books so that I can get the full story instead of the bits and pieces of it that I gathered from reading it.

The story itself was well written, and the characters interesting and not easily replaced by an inanimate object. Which is something I really enjoy especially when romance is involved.

The treating of the trauma was actually fairly well handled as to how she dealt with it/wanted to deal with it. And felt real. Especially since everyone deals with trauma differently. It’s nice to see it dealt with differently than how it usually is.

All in all, I’d say read the prior two books before reading this one but it’s well worth the read.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|iTunes

Comments
  1. […] warnings for the series: heterosexual relationship, violence, drugs ◊King ◊Tyrant ◊Lawless Content warnings: drug use, drug abuse, alcohol use, alcohol abuse, sodomy, attempted rape, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

