Review: Bear Necessities

Posted: 10/01/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Bear Necessities
Bear Necessities by Selena Kitt

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: blood, gore, cannibalism, death, cancer mention, gun violence, violence, sex, mentions of rape, mentions of sexual assault, mentions of abuse

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Holy crap. So, I’m not huge on post apocalyptic stories. I will be the first to admit that. However, reading the blurb on this made me really go “hmmm….that’s kinda interesting. Let’s see if it’s really good.” Which, is a fairly valid question since Selena Kitt is hit and miss with me. More on the hit side than the miss but enough to make me kind of wary going into this just on that fact. I am very happy to say though, that this was a definite hit.

I REALLY enjoyed this story. Way more than I thought I would. And much as I don’t like your stereotypical apocalypse stories, this was a kind of fresh take on them. I mean I know Resident Evil (the movies not the games) and 28 Days Later started similarish to this one but besides those two there aren’t any others that I can actively think of that start the way this one did. And I’m not ashamed to say that I really enjoyed it. Like I wouldn’t even count it as a guilty pleasure. It was a regular pleasure period.

I’m sad about Ivy’s dad. Really and truly. And even though I don’t like what her asshole ex did, I DO like the end result of it and her learning things about herself she didn’t previously know.

I didn’t like (and continue to not like) the whole men treating woman as possessions regardless of whether the woman is even interested in them. It’s a trope that I wish would just die. I’m fine with it if there’s some measure of communication prior and one partner asks the other if they are ok with being called theirs and so on and so forth.

The sex scenes in this were fairly tame compared to some of Selena Kitt’s other works. They’re still hot but tame. Which, to be fair, was slightly disappointing. I was really hoping for him to completely ravish her with potential tearing off of clothes. But I was still more or less pleased with what we were given.

The climax of the book was pretty good. As was the way the conflict was resolved. That was a good idea. A bit convenient yes, but within the realm of possibilities in the universe of the book. I can completely believe that that could happen.

All in all, this was a pretty enjoyable book that I enjoyed more than I initially thought. I would definitely recommend this book to others.

Buy it here:

Amazon(US)|Amazon(UK)

Tell me stuff

