Review: Kingdom From Ashes

Posted: 16/01/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , ,

Kingdom From Ashes
Kingdom From Ashes by Megan Linski

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: violence, death, blood, gore

I received a free copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Oh. My. Gosh.

Honestly, I wasn’t expecting to like this book as much as I did. And that’s a very good thing. I mean I knew I’d like it at least a little. But, I liked it a LOT more than a little. I haven’t yet read 1001 Arabian Nights (though it’s on my to read list) and this is suppose to be a retelling sort of of it. Despite not reading that, I can definitely tell the influence at least is there.

One of the things I ADORED about this book is the lack of people being white. There are definitely some white passing people but there is a very distinct lack of “alabaster/porcelain skin”. Which, for me is it’s own issue that won’t be discussed here but is an issue. And it’s definitely something that I want to see more of. For a lot of reasons.

And the flirting. Between Zahid and Bennua. Oh my gosh. Like, it wasn’t the “typical” kind of “I like you” “Get away from me I don’t like you at all” “now we’re magically in love” type of flirting. It felt more real and authentic. In that enemies to friends to lovers type of way.

I also cheered a little bit near the end. With the big battle and how it was fought and the after effects of it. Which, I won’t say why because I try very hard NOT to do huge spoilers in my reviews but can definitely say it’s a spoiler. Because it’s everything I hoped for.

Bennua made me so happy as a main character AND princess. From the loving animals and need to take care of them to the knowing how important it was to care for her people even though no one else in her family understood it to her determination and stubbornness. She started out as not very strong physically but very strong determination, stubbornness, and intellect wise and through the pages of the book you could see her growing stronger in all aspects. And learning to be her own person. Especially once she started learning how to fight. And her budding friendship with Toshana.

I completely did NOT see the ending with Toshana coming. Like, initially, she was my favourite character until Bennua stopped her whining and started actually learning and paying attention. But by the end I had to read it a few times to make sure I had read it correctly. And my jaw just dropped.

The setting was inspired by the pre-Islamic Arabian Peninsula/Western Asia (I REFUSE to call it the Middle East for a lot of reasons). And you could definitely tell that. From the way the women in general were treated by most of the other people (including other women), how revered the men were, and to how everything setting wise was described. I felt like I could actually be there. Which was pretty awesome.

All in all, this was a fantastic book that I would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys reading fantasy books. I am definitely looking forward and excited to read the rest of the books.

Buy it here:

Amazon|iBooks|Barnes & Noble|Google Play

Comments
  1. […] Kingdom Saga(Megan Linski) Content warnings for the series: violence ◊Kingdom From Ashes Content warnings: violence, death, blood, gore Fallen From Ashes Redemption From […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

