Review: Progress

Posted: 21/01/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Progress
Progress by Amalie Silver

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: mentions of abuse, mentions of rape, mentions of csa, mental illness, drug use, drug abuse, alcohol use, alcohol abuse, fat shaming, eating disorder mention,sex, death mention

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review

My first reaction to this book being over: No. NONONONONONO! FUCK YOU! NO!

And I still basically feel that way. I have a complicated love/hate with this book. For a few reasons.

I LOVED Charlie. She was a very real character. I didn’t care much for the fat shaming b.s. but even that felt pretty real to me because people are jerks about weight. Especially towards women. Oh and her love of ska music. That just made my heart sing with happiness especially as I am a ska lover.

Jesse…..I saw way too much of myself in him. I really did. And I both loved and HATED that. As a bipolar/manic depressive/depressed diagnosed person it’s a complicated feeling to see/read yourself in a book. Especially when it’s a book that actually represents your mental illness well. Like. I didn’t feel Jesse was a caricature of people who are manic depressive/bipolar. I didn’t feel like the author was subtly making jokes about people like me. And making us the butt of the joke. And I like how she described the highs and lows of his BPD.

I’m conflicted about his psych but that’s because I’ve been there, done that with mental health professionals. Had both those who cared and those who treated me more as a fascinating subject of being mentally abnormal/just another paycheck. And sadly, the latter run rampant in my area so I’ve seen A LOT of them. So I understand Jesse’s reluctance to even go.

And the complicated relationship he has with his medications he’s suppose to take. I have my days like that as well. Where I know I *SHOULD* take my meds but really just don’t want to. And my days where I want nothing more than to stay in my blanket cave for the next month like a hibernating bear.

I have to say, as much as I did enjoy the two lead characters AND their different views being represented in the story, and as much as it tore into my emotions ending as it did, I’m actually kind of weirdly happy with it. Because in the end, she did what was good for HER. As she should have.

I like her transformation, unhealthy as it was at times, but am very convinced she started it for the wrong reasons. This is the first time I’ve ever read this author and I’m very glad for the opportunity. Her characters were easy to love and hate at the same time and I enjoyed the description of the area they lived in and where they travelled.

All that said, I CAN’T WAIT for the next book. It was a good book and soon as I have money will be adding this to my owned books list.

Buy it here:

Amazon(US)|Amazon(CA)|Amazon(AU)|Amazon(UK)|Amazon(IN)|Barnes & Noble

 

Comments
  1. […] series(Amalie Silver) Content warnings for the series: heterosexual romance Progress Content warnings: mentions of abuse, mentions of rape, mentions of csa, mental illness, drug use, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

