Review: My Daring Highlander

Posted: 26/01/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , ,

My Daring Highlander
My Daring Highlander by Vonda Sinclair

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: mentions of abuse, death, violence, sex

I received a free copy of this audiobook from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

So, I have to say that this is the first book I’ve read/listened to by this author. And even though it’s kind of in a series, it is literally it’s own book. I did have to get a clarification from the author as to what a curse word that was repeated was (because even with headphones my hearing was being screwy and I was hearing differently and it wasn’t making the least bit of sense but after email back it made SO MUCH MORE SENSE). I’m very thankful that the author was more than happy to answer my question. Despite my mishearing I still really enjoyed the book.

It’s not getting a full 5 stars only because the abuse caught me off guard. And I’m still really hit and miss on reading that in books. Thanks to my own traumas and experiences but it’s definitely a YMMV type of thing. I mean it’s pretty accurate historically. Because women weren’t always treated well but it’s still one of those things with me. That I should expect more when reading/listening to historical romance stuff. Especially given the sheer amount of it I have (A LOT).

Anyway though, the characters weren’t one dimensional. And I had a love-hate thing with her aunt. I hated her father the second he was mentioned. And cheered at the end. Because of spoiler reasons. While her aunt’s explanation makes sense it’s still a crappy excuse which continues my hate of her but also understanding why she was the way she was makes a lot of sense. Especially when dealing with an abusive shit stain like her father.

I REALLY love the fact that the author actually KNOWS Scottish geography and that it was shown very much in the book. That was a nice touch.

I really liked the narrator’s voice (but that’s me with a predilection towards deep voices and Scottish accents). He didn’t read too fast or too slow. It was kept at a nice even pace through the whole book. And his brogue wasn’t so thick that (people not me and not use to the thicker ones) you’re left wondering what the heck was said.

Overall, good book with not a lot of problems that I found. Highly enjoyable and I will probably wind up buying it.

Buy it here:

Audible|Amazon|Barnes & Noble|iBooks|Kobo|Smashwords|Google Play

Comments
  1. […] heterosexual relationships, violence My Fierce Highlander My Wild Highlander My Brave Highlander My Daring Highlander Content warnings: mentions of abuse, death, violence, heterosexual romance, sex My Notorious […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

