Review: The Concealing

Posted: 30/01/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

The Concealing
The Concealing by D.E.L. Connor

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: suicide, mentions of abuse to animals, mentions of abuse to children, violence, attempted drowning, death, potential cultural appropriation

I received a free copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

I have a lot of feelings about this book. And they’re all conflicting. I WANT to like this book. Really I do. But I don’t know that I can given that it’s a book written by a very white passing person that features Indigenous American people’s cultures and spiritual practices and showing white people participating in them.

Like, I REALLY want to like this book. It was very engrossing and pulled me in with the writing. But I can’t 100% say I loved it. Because of the whole Indigenous American practices being used and stated by white people in the book. Though I do have to say a lot of the ceremonies the white people were explicitly invited into the ceremonies by the Indigenous people.

With no mentioning of any thanks to any tribe (and by the specific words used I determined the language to be Cree) for knowledge of the cultural and spiritual practices that are used in this, I can’t in good faith say that any of it is accurate or should be used. And with no knowledge of whether the author is native or not. It’s really a personal thing of it being a pet peeve. And because of that I’ve been sitting on this review since the 18th.

Personal feelings aside, I had a feeling as to who the evil person in their lives would be as it’s “subtly” hinted through the entire book. The writing was well written and made me feel like I was actually there. Which is to say that it’s very descriptive and does showing as well as telling. Which I always appreciate since a lot of times it’s more tell than show and what’s being told contradicts with what’s being shown. And I LOVED the friendships shown in this book. And that the girls weren’t catty to each other.

Overall, pretty decent YA book.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] series(D.E.L. Connor)¬†Content warnings for the series: violence, potential cultural appropriation The Concealing¬†Content warnings: suicide, mentions of abuse to animals, mentions of abuse to children, violence, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

