Review: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe

Posted: 20/02/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: violence, gay bashing, mentions of death

I had a feeling I would like this book. Especially given what I had read/heard about on tumblr about it. Which, ironically, is how I first found out about this book. And I was wrong. I don’t just like it. I love it. It was better than I thought it could be.

The only things I couldn’t identify with were being a gay boy and being Mexican. As I am neither of those. However, not identifying with those two things really didn’t stop my immersion and enjoyment of this book. I NEED the next book. More importantly gay (and probably bi) boys, especially Mexican boys, NEED the next book (which I know, I know, the author is working on it but I’m impatient when it comes to books I like).

Minus the whole gay bashing part, I liked that this book didn’t really have the whole tragic story ending that you see from time to time in books about LGBTQIA+ people. I mean, even with that it’s not a tragic ending. It’s an ending that feels complete enough that this could be a standalone, but open enough to be the start of a series. And I really enjoy books like that.

Like, I know this book isn’t for me per se. For one, I’m not a young adult. For two, not Mexican. For three, not gay boy. But even having to google phrases in Spanish (since I barely speak it and literally all I know is cussing and counting but I’m working on that slowly) I still really enjoyed this book.

And the puppy! I’ve seen dogs like the one described in the book and they’re adorable as heck.

I liked how the different family dynamics were presented. They complemented each other nicely without having one be “the good family to aspire to” and the other “the bad family to not root for”. Both were shown to have their own flaws and that they loved each other in different ways. This was a great coming of age type story. That I would definitely recommend to everyone. I also really liked how it showed that everyone communicates in their own way. I wasn’t big on the outing part about it because it shouldn’t have been that way but I understand why it was.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Simon and Schuster|Book Depository|Scholastic|Google Play|iBooks

 

Tell me stuff

