Review: Goody One Shoe

Posted: 20/02/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Goody One Shoe
Goody One Shoe by Julie Frayn

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: rape, murder, discussions of mental illness, death, disability, bullying, assault, attempted rape

I received a free copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

I really enjoyed the beginning of the book. It really drew me in. I had the entire thing figured out pretty early on in the book. Which didn’t really take away from my enjoyment of the book.

What DID take a bit away from the book for me was the rape and attempted rape and walking into that blind. Been there, done that. Have PTSD as a result. I can’t wait until content warnings on books become a thing that everyone does. So I can be better prepared to read books that have triggery content in them.

I do have to say that I enjoy the fact that the rape and attempted rape weren’t meant solely as plot devices. Because there’s honestly enough books out there that do that and we don’t need any more.

One thing that felt a bit superfluous to me was the flashbacks to her past. They didn’t seem to fit well into the narrative other than to enforce that yes, she’s been bullied and teased since she was 11 and treated as other because of losing the bottom of her leg and both her parents. It honestly took me a little out of the narrative. Even if you took out the chapters of her flashbacks to grade school and high school and college, the book still would have made sense. And I personally think it would improve it. The flashbacks felt tedious. But that could just be me and my dislike of flashbacks that don’t progress the narrative.

All in all this was a pretty good book about redemption, love, forgiveness, and vengeance.

Buy it here:

Amazon(US)|Amazon(UK)|Amazon(IN)|Amazon(FR)|Amazon(CA)|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

