Review: Chance for the Win

Posted: 25/02/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Chance for the Win
Chance for the Win by Zach Jenkins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: sex, gay relationships, threats to out someone against their will

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Ok so I had quite a few problems with this book. But I’ll discuss them after I go through things I liked.

Things I liked. The consent. Like. The ACTIVE consent. And the safe sex. And use of lubrication. Because oh. my. gosh. I’ve read so many scenes in books in which they go in dry and I sit there reading it and wincing in pain because ow and no. Though I am given to understand that there are people who do enjoy that. Which is cool as long as they and their partner like it.

AND OMG! Manny’s plan for the children’s book! That is SUCH A FANTASTIC IDEA. Especially the whole having it in two languages so that children can better learn especially if they immigrate to a country that speaks a different language than they speak and read. It’s definitely something that should be a thing for most if not all children’s books. And extend into middle grade and young adult books for the older children who have outgrown picture books.

This was a well written story. And it was nice to see someone, even if just fictional, be able to come out and not have to deal with a crapton of homophobia.

Things I didn’t like. Which, really is only 2 things. Ok so there was the first sex scene that just….*sighs* Let me paint the context:

He pushed his dick into me so slowly, stretching me so amazingly, that I bit my shoulder to keep from screaming.

I just….First off, realism. YES, it IS possible to to bite your own shoulder. But, the question is WHY? They’re on a bed. Pillows, blankets, sheets, and the mattress would be better to bite down on. Biting your own shoulder both looks AND feels (and this is the opinions of me and a few people on twitter) kind of like a furry animal biting themselves to scratch. It’s not sexy. It’s confusing and hilarious. I mean, the rest of it is fine. But just. That line. I started laughing so hard I completely lost immersion.

The second one, I don’t have the exact quote but I have seen it in more than one book (but I’m kind of picking on this one for this right now. Because I’m actually remembering about this right now. But basically it goes with the ideal that you need to “train” your partner. Especially when it says train them like a dog. It seriously bothers me. Unless you’re in some sort of kink/D/s relationship where that is an explicit thing for your relationship that’s been negotiated and/or pet play. It’s a trope I’d love to see die. Especially as it was more “I need to train (partner) to be a better partner to fill my needs”. Yes, it’s give and take in relationships and there is a period where you and your partner are figuring out what you need/want and can give each other. But it’s not one sided. And it’s not “I’m deciding this on my own without consulting my partner first”. It’s one of those things that makes me really angry.

I would definitely recommend this book if you like interracial sports romance m/m books.

Buy it here:

Amazon

Comments
  1. […] Chance For the Win: Content warnings: sex, gay relationships, threats to out someone against their will Game Changing Drive: Content warnings: sex, gay relationship The Perfect Catch: Content warnings: sex, gay romances, minor homophobia, mentions of prior abusive relationship Bonus story: Content warnings: sex, gay relationship, marital issues […]

    Like

  2. […] and Gridiron series(Zach Jenkins) Content warnings for the series: sex, gay relationships Chance for the Win Content warnings: sex, gay relationship Game Changing Drive Content warnings: sex, gay […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

