Review: The Perfect Catch

Posted: 26/02/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

The Perfect Catch
The Perfect Catch by Zach Jenkins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: sex, gay romances, minor homophobia, mentions of prior abusive relationship

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

I liked this one the best of the other two. It’s not to say they were bad it’s just to say I really enjoyed this one the most.

I wanted to punch Tommy’s friend for what he did. Because that was seriously not cool.

This was another standalone but still part of a series HEA romance.

I don’t blame either Damien or Tommy for their particular issues. Especially going from poverty or near poverty to really rich. It’s scary as hell. You go from “crap do I have enough money for rent AND groceries?” to “I have more than enough money for rent AND groceries and I MUST spend this money or else someone’s going to take it away from me”. ESPECIALLY if you are part of a marginalized group. And I like that that was acknowledged in the book. About how scary and easy it is to spend all your money on all the things and then dig yourself into a hole because of that.

I like that they actually worked out their issues and got to the point they did. It takes a lot of talking for that to happen. A lot of very brutal honest conversations that are VERY hard to have. And the fear that because of his job being violent that he might turn towards partner and child….That is a very REAL fear. Especially for someone who has been in a prior abusive relationship (regardless of if it was physically abusive or not).

I like that it wasn’t glossed over but wasn’t gone into detail about. It was mere mentions here and there that if you pay attention you put all together and it wasn’t done badly (as abusive relationships often are handled in books).

Overall, this was a pretty good book that I enjoyed.

Buy it here:

Amazon

Comments
  1. […] to out someone against their will Game Changing Drive: Content warnings: sex, gay relationship The Perfect Catch: Content warnings: sex, gay romances, minor homophobia, mentions of prior abusive relationship […]

    Like

  2. […] warnings: sex, gay relationship Game Changing Drive Content warnings: sex, gay relationship The Perfect Catch Content warnings: sex, gay relationship Bonus story: Content warnings: sex, gay relationship, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

