Review: Bear No Loss: BBW Werebear Mail-Order Bride Hockey Romance

Posted: 02/03/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , ,

Bear No Loss: BBW Werebear Mail-Order Bride Hockey Romance
Bear No Loss: BBW Werebear Mail-Order Bride Hockey Romance by Anya Nowlan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: sex, racism, heterosexual relationships

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Again, I enjoy books about hockey and shifters able to be out and acknowledged. It’s really fantastic that these are great books.

I have a problem with this book a little when it comes to tropes. The cr*zy black woman who is doing everything in her power to sabotage this relationship. Especially in contrast to her doing it to her supposed best friend who is white. Just because said best friend has gotten the interest of famous person you’re obsessed with.  The implied racism in there along with the “being a person’s biggest fan so automatically you’ll do anything in your power to break them and whomever they’re interested in up”. It’s a thing I’m tired of.

And yeah, I could be really be reading too much into it but that’s my own interpretation.

I liked the camping trip a LOT. And the whole being comfortable enough with someone that you don’t feel like you *HAVE* to be in conversation with them. I love relationships of any and ALL kinds with that comfortable silence. It kind of speaks volumes about the people involved in those relationships. Much more than an author can really describe the people and their relationship.

This was a good book (despite my own personal problems with it) that I’d definitely recommend.

Buy it here:

Amazon

Comments
  1. […] Nowlan) Content warnings for the series: sex A Bear Victory Content warnings: minor stalking, sex Bear No Loss A Bear Goal Bear No […]

    Like

  2. […] Bear No Loss Content warnings: sex, racism […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

