Review: Reign

Posted: 06/03/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Reign
Reign by M.N. Forgy

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: sex, violence, drug mentions, alcohol mentions, death, misogyny, abuse, murder, girl on girl hate, slut shaming, heterosexual relationships

I received an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Well, this was definitely a motorcycle club book. Complete with angst and women are property to be owned/told what to do.

I do have to say it was quite a bit more interesting than some motorcycle club books I’ve read. Though, why I read them when I detest most of them I still haven’t figured out but…that’s life.

This one though, the premise of a sheriff and an outlaw falling for each other. It had me hooked. I have to admit. And mostly enjoyed it.

I laughed at the whole doughnuts thing. Because that was great and hilarious.

I hated the unnecessary drama parts of this book. Particularly the parts with the girl on girl hate. Dolly is everything I HATE in female archetypes in books. “Oh you said no, you aren’t interested and I should stop ignoring that? Too bad not going to AND I’m going to beat up any other girl who even looks at you in a way I don’t like”. And Zeek isn’t much better with Jillian. “I told you to run but now you belong to me and any man who looks at you in a way I don’t like I’m going to beat the shit out of.” Honestly, crap like that makes me want to pull all my hair out in frustration. It’s unnecessary. And on Dolly’s part it’s drama that doesn’t need to exist but still does for whatever inane reason.

And then it ended on a fucking cliffhanger. And I DESPISE cliffhangers especially when the rest of the books aren’t out yet.

It’s a decent book. But very much a YMMV book on how much you may or may not enjoy it.

Buy it here:

Amazon(US)|Amazon(UK)|Barnes & Noble|iBooks|Kobo

Comments
  1. […] City Outlaws(M.N. Forgy) Content warnings for the series: heterosexual relationship Reign Content warnings: sex, violence, drug mentions, alcohol mentions, death, misogyny, abuse, murder, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

