Review: Chief Bear (Bear Shifter Paranormal Romance)

Posted: 16/03/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Chief Bear (Bear Shifter Paranormal Romance)
Chief Bear (Bear Shifter Paranormal Romance) by Scarlett Grove

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: sex, alcohol use, abuse mention, mentions of violence, mentions of hate crime, heterosexual relationships

I received a free copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Ohmygoshohmygoshohmygoshohmygosh!

This story seriously sucked me in once I started reading it. Like sucked me in to the point that I literally did NOT want to put it down. I had moments of laughing and moments of fury and almost crying. But this was good.

It was well written even the parts with the hate crime reflections that were more species hate crime than not. I mean I’d prefer I not had to read that or go into it blind but I personally feel it was handled better than I’ve seen it handled.

The mentions of abuse were handled well as well. Another thing I would have loved to not go in blind with but speaking with my own experiences, the handling of the emotional and verbal abuse was handled well. Especially with how insidious that tends to be and causes you to doubt motivations of others and such. I don’t think (and seriously hope not) that she will be magically cured now that events have happened. But she is at least onto a path to a better life and to healing from it.

The parts with the chef made me both laugh and cringe at the same time. I’ve worked in kitchens with chefs close to that scary and yeah…..it’s funny after the fact but kind of scary in the moment. But I also like that he basically proved himself to everyone as more than just a cook and a trustworthy member of the team.

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. If you like shifters and bears, I’d definitely advise you to buy it.

Buy it here:

Amazon

Comments
  1. […] Bears series(Scarlett Grove) Content warnings: sex, heterosexual romance ◊Chief Bear Content warnings: sex, alcohol use, abuse mention, mentions of violence, mentions of hate crime, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

