Review: Fated for the Dragon: M/M Gay Shifter Mpreg Romance

Posted: 03/04/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Fated for the Dragon: M/M Gay Shifter Mpreg Romance
Fated for the Dragon: M/M Gay Shifter Mpreg Romance by Kellan Larkin

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: gay relationships, male pregnancy, pregnancy, slight anti inter-species dating, sex, mentions of death

I received a review copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

So full disclaimer here, I had very mixed feelings about reading this. I mean I adore shifter stories. I especially adore dragon shifters. But the whole male pregnancy thing, is not much of my thing. Especially after the whole Supernatural mpreg tumblr fanfic craze of a few years ago let’s just say over saturation of ANYTHING gets old REAL quick especially when it’s not a thing that you have actively gone to look for and you’re just looking for gifs or cute animal photos and then get that thing that’s being over saturated. So generally, I’ve kind of avoided it for the past year and a half/two years because of that. HOWEVER, this story was a nice ease into the trope and stuff.

Now, all that said, I DID enjoy this book quite a bit. INCLUDING the male pregnancy bit. Which was surprising to myself. One of the things that I really loved about this was the responsibility taken on the part of the main character. Not only responsibility but telling his partner what was going on AND giving him time to process and decide what he wanted to do. That was definitely a thing that I’d LOVE to see more in books depicting unexpected pregnancy from a night of sleeping together, particularly when shifters are involved.

Everything I really want to talk about is *REALLY* spoilery so naturally I’m not going to talk about it (I will privately with people who have just email me but not people who haven’t).

Long and short of this, it is an enjoyable book and I’d definitely say it’s worth it.

Buy it here:

Amazon(US)|Amazon(CA)|Amazon(UK)|Amazon(AU)|Amazon(FR)|Amazon(IN)

Tell me stuff

