Review: Dodging Trains

Posted: 06/04/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Dodging Trains
Dodging Trains by Sunniva Dee

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: childhood rape, childhood sexual assault, homophobia, slut shaming reclamation, alcohol use, blood mention, fantasy mention of severely hurting someone, heterosexual relationships

I received a free copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

This took me a while to be able to both finish and write the review. I knew going into this book that it was going to be hard and potentially triggery (which, HUGE thanks to the author for mentioning that). But as long as I know that going into the book, I am pretty ok with that. Because then I can make sure I’m in a good enough frame of mind to read it and have minimal adverse affects from it.

Before I talk about all of that, I’m going to mention that I *REALLY* enjoyed this book. It was well written and dealt with trauma and triggers very well. It was nice to see a book that not only mentioned that characters had trauma and triggers because of said trauma but also showed how they dealt with it instead of just glossing over all that.

That said, I am kind of tired with the girl always has to have been raped b.s. It’s becoming too much of a plot device. I mean yeah this book had more than just the girl being raped but…..it’s just tiring to see. Almost every book with trauma it’s because of sexual assault or rape of a female character. I’m just tired of seeing it. And it’s probably because of my own personal history with that. But regardless, it is tiring.

All in all, good book and would definitely recommend.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

