Review: Charley’s Christmas Wolf: A Macconwood Pack Novella

Posted: 14/04/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , ,

Charley's Christmas Wolf: A Macconwood Pack Novella
Charley’s Christmas Wolf: A Macconwood Pack Novella by C.D. Gorri

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: kidnapping, sex, mental illness slur, heterosexual relationships

I received a free copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.

OH MY GOSH! This was such a cute story.

Like shifter stories in general both make me happy and piss me off in equal parts (mostly because they follow similar formulas in male shifter is alpha-ish and tells woman what she wants regardless of anything she says and magically she falls in love with him usually because of sex). But this made me happier more than pissed me off. In fact, only a small bit actually pissed me off and that was the actual kidnapping.

The only other “issue” I had is really a genre wise problem (and not limited to shifter stories or romance stories) and had to do with frustration of lack of communication with each other. It was more angst of “I need to show her that I want her to stay” and “I don’t want to leave him but I don’t want to tell him and seem like a burden for this temporary situation”. Which always makes me want to facepalm and then grab the characters and tell them to communicate with each other since neither can read minds.

Normally, I get kind of irritated at ‘virgin’ type stories but this one didn’t really irritate me. There was no mention of ‘splitting in two’ or ‘spearing her on his huge cock’ (though huge cock was mentioned but it wasn’t every few sentences and more understandable when dealing with a virgin). There was also no mention of ‘ripping her open’ (seriously, all three of those and all variations make me wince in pain and take me out of the story).

The only other gripe I had with this story is the use of the term cr*zy. It does appear more than once and it does bother me (which is why this didn’t get 5 stars).

This was a highly enjoyable book otherwise that I’d definitely recommend.

Buy it here:

Amazon(US)|Amazon(CA)|Amazon(UK)|Amazon(AU)

Tell me stuff

