Review: Lies We Tell Ourselves

Posted: 13/05/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Lies We Tell Ourselves
Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: racism, bisexual relationships, homophobia

I have been putting off this review for almost a month now. Not because I hated it. I liked it. But the language used and the time frame it’s set in actually did make me quite angry.

I DID like that the author appeared to do a lot of research into the attitudes and everything of people while integration of schools from all white to mixed race schools was going on. And that was the hardest part for me. I mean yeah, the homophobia was hard to read but the racist attitudes and slurs thrown at people just trying to live…..

It was an incredibly painful read for me and I can only imagine how hard it would be for non white people to read. There is a note at the end that has some resources for further reading as well. Due to subject content, this is a hard book to read but well worth the read.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Harlequin|The Ripped Bodice|Scholastic|Google Play|iBooks

Tell me stuff

