Review: Filthy English

Posted: 10/07/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , ,

Filthy English
Filthy English by Ilsa Madden-Mills

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: sex, assault, robbery, mentions of prior deaths, alcohol use, alcohol abuse, heterosexual relationships

I received an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

So, as we all know, I LOVE modern day tellings/re-tellings/inspired by literature classics (which can also depend on what you consider to be classics). I very much enjoyed this. In fact I enjoyed it more than the first book, Dirty English. This one was inspired by Romeo and Juliet. However, even had I not read the first one (and/or enjoyed it), I would have enjoyed this one.

I’m very hit and miss when it comes to this author. Some of her works I really love. Some I really dislike. Some I’m just kind of ‘meh’ about. This one fell more closer to really love.

As to the main character’s ex, I’m not entirely sure he wasn’t b.s.ing her but I’m overall happy with the fact that things turned out the way they did.

One of the things I didn’t fully enjoy was how often it felt it was thrown in your face that “Hey this is inspired by Romeo and Juliet”. It felt a little bit much to me. But your mileage may vary there. I did enjoy that the version of Romeo and Juliet that was watched was Baz Luhrmann’s version, which word for word is the most accurate to the text version.

Overall this was an enjoyable read that I’d recommend to people who enjoy romance books.

Buy it here:

Amazon

Comments
  1. […] warnings: sexual assault, violence, attempted murder, blackmail, drugs, alcohol, sex Filthy English Content warnings: sex, assault, robbery, mentions of prior deaths, alcohol use, alcohol abuse, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

