Review: George

Posted: 20/07/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

George
George by Alex Gino

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: trans people, transphobic comments

So, I’ve been recommended this book and heard a LOT of buzz about this book from a LOT of people. And oh. my. gosh. This is one of the cutest books I’ve ever read. And definitely going on my to-buy list. I even had my parents read this and they both liked it. Which, for my dad means a lot since this is a middle grade book and not one that he’d be prone to reading normally.

I love George’s best friend. I love their friendship. I love the acceptance. I love the encouragement. I wish more people were like her.

George’s teacher kind of made me angry about the whole auditions thing. It was very heteronormative in the boys can only do this and girls can only do that. And I really disliked that part of it. But I understand why it was important to have that as part of the story.

All in all this was a fantastic book that I highly recommend to everyone. And I’d LOVE to see more about George(Melissa) and her adventures. *EVERY* library (school/public) should have a copy. Or at least access to a copy of this book. This non binary person really wishes that they had this book when they were growing up.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Waterstones|Book Depository|Google Books|iBooks|Powell’s|Audible

Comments

Tell me stuff

