Review: The Rules for Hearts

Posted: 18/08/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

The Rules for Hearts
The Rules for Hearts by Sara Ryan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: drug use, alcohol use, lesbian relationships, gambling, addiction

So this was a follow up to Empress of the World. In it, we get to explore Battle’s relationship with her family.

While I enjoyed it, it wasn’t as good for me as Empress was. I mean yeah finding your identity and going away to college are important things. But this one dragged for me in a lot of places. I’d actually give it more like 3.5 stars if I could because of all the times it dragged. There’s also some issues concerning personal space and respecting others and their opinions and shit but I won’t go into those because it’s spoiler territory. And I really don’t want to go there.

The reconnecting with long lost brother parts of it were interesting. I loved the wedding scene and how everything and everyone was basically accepted as normal. And Battle not being sure as to how to proceed/act with her romantic/sexual interest.

I’d definitely be into reading more about her college life and experiences. And MAYBE if it didn’t drag, her brother’s recovery from addiction to gambling and reconnecting with family.

All in all this was a pretty interesting book that just had sections that dragged.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Penguin Random House|Overdrive|Kobo|iBooks|Google Play

Tell me stuff

