Review: Emely’s Destiny

Posted: 20/08/2016 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Emely's Destiny
Emely’s Destiny by Ariel Marie

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: sex, violence, attempted rape, torture mentions, death, heterosexual relationships

I received a free ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

This is the first book I’ve read from this author. And while it was a quick read and a short book, it was a very enjoyable one.

I did have a few issues with this book. One was a general issue I have with vampire books generally. The seeing pale skinned vampires. Pale skinned is so coded as white that it bothers me. I have read books with non white vampires and enjoyed those a bit more than the generic pale skinned vampire books (even though the writing in some of those left A LOT to be desired). So I definitely would like to see a lot more non pale skinned vampires. The other problem I have is a general issue with romance/erotica type books. The whole “you’re so wet for me” thing. I mean yes, sure, some women get wet when turned on. But it’s frustrating seeing that so much in almost every book I read that I want to bash my head in sometimes.

Apart from those two issues though, I *REALLY* enjoyed the book. And would definitely recommend it to others. It also had a few moments that made me laugh which was really great.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Kobo|iBooks

Comments
  1. MyBookJacket says:

    I’ve stopped reading vampire books completely after twilight. And the you’re so wet is rofl. Glad you enjoyed the rest of it though.

    Like

    • Blow Pop says:

      I have always loved vampire books. I am just more critical now of them. I started on Anne Rice’s series and then moved to poppy z brite and then laurell k hamilton and now onto so much better.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me stuff

