Review: Ghost Girl in the Corner

Posted: 05/01/2017 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , , ,

Ghost Girl in the Corner
Ghost Girl in the Corner by Daniel José Older

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

Content warnings: lesbian relationship, death, drug mentions

I adored this book. It’s a nice novella to tide you over in between Shadowshaper and Shadowhouse Fall that’s coming out later this year. I haven’t read Bone Street Rumba but I did catch the character that appeared in this novella from that world. I also caught a lot of other references that I’m not going to mention because you’ll just have to read it and catch them yourself (and it’s so worth it trust me).

I adored the fact that this, like Shadowshaper, was a political commentary especially with regards to how police can and do tend to treat brown people when they go missing. Which basically comes down to the fact of if you’re not white they don’t particularly care as much.

The author also did this wonderful interview with himself about this book here which I advise all of you listen to. I definitely advise you read this book AFTER reading Shadowshaper (it’ll make SO MUCH MORE sense).

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Kobo|iBooks|Google Play|Overdrive

Comments
  1. […] colorism, racial identity, white apathy,  ancestral memory, street harassment, slurs, ableism ◊Ghost Girl in the Corner Content warnings: lesbian relationship, death, drug mentions ◊Dead Light March ◊Shadowhouse […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

