Review: Huntsmen

Posted: 17/05/2017 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Huntsmen
Huntsmen by Michelle Osgood

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: sex, lesbian relationships, gay relationships, bisexual relationships, genderfluid characters, violence

 

Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author/publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review.

This review took me a little bit of time to write. I had a bit of processing to do for it. I enjoyed it but there was processing.

Another disclaimer for this book, I didn’t read the book before this one so I *MIGHT* have missed some things and other things may have been explained in the book prior. I acknowledge that and if that is so and I find that out when I eventually buy and read that book I will update this review to reflect that. However, at this point in time, I am going off of the information that I have based off of what was given to me contextually in *THIS* book.

Now that that’s all said, one of the things that niggled at me was Taryn. Ryn in themselves was NOT the problem. EVERYONE else in relation to Ryn was. Kiara especially. For someone who is suppose to be a partner of a genderqueer person and supposedly understanding of said genderqueer person I would expect them to use pronouns and refer to their partner as more than just “she”. It was disappointing to me. Like as a reader who is genderfluid just seeing that a main character (it’s arguable that both Ryn and Kiara are main characters in the book as the book revolves around them both) focuses *ONLY* on the fact that one of Ryn’s pronouns is “she” and ignores the other pronoun is “they”. I get that everyone is different especially between genderfluid and genderqueer. But as someone who is constantly referred to as “she” instead of “they” by people they’ve asked to use “they/them” pronouns it still hurts to read it. And it reads a bit like misgendering someone. Like I got really excited when they were first introducing and pronouns were introduced as well. Like no one explicitly asked “hey what are your pronouns?” It was just “I’m (name) and my pronouns are (pronouns)” which is about how it should go anyway. But then to have the cis characters constantly call Ryn “she” just really bothered me. Xan West articulates it a lot better in their review here.

I also couldn’t really get behind Ryn and Kiara’s relationship as their first go around with their relationship felt kind of toxic in the it was all consuming way. Like they got too caught up in each other. Or more, Kiara got herself way too consumed and caught up in Ryn as Ryn was able to manage to continue to be productive and continue her career where Kiara wasn’t. She made her whole world out to be just Ryn.

The sex in this book was definitely hot. I’ll say that for sure. I definitely liked that Ryn’s dysphoria was addressed and respected. And that Kiara and Ryn had the talk of consent of what was ok beforehand. As a person with body dysphoria it’s a huge issue when it comes to sex (of course it’s a huge issue for me just getting undressed to get in the shower but that’s another topic altogether). It’s nice to see it addressed in a way that doesn’t show it as “ewwwww you have dysphoria well screw you” or that kind of attitude or type of attitude. I’ve talked to people who’ve had that kind of attitude and like even in general conversation that’s a huge turn off just to talk to a person.

I absolutely LOVED the focus of queer family. Family they chose for themselves. It’s heartwarming and wonderful. They support each other and don’t leave each other out for themselves. And the geekiness that permeated through them. Not all of them were geeky but they all participated in being geeky even if it wasn’t their thing. It was absolutely wonderful. I could feel the love they had for each other. And the love they had for the newcomer in their family group and acceptance of their newcomer once Kiara made it clear she wasn’t leaving Ryn. I definitely know people who have their chosen family like that. And to my own extent have my own though we’re not quite that close as we all have our own illnesses and such that prevent us from seeing each other as much as we’d like.

I’d definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to read a book about werewolf shifters and hot sex. With some incidents of violence. And chosen queer family who’ll stand by each other’s side while the world falls apart and is against them.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|iBooks|Google Play|Interlude Press|Booktopia|Target|Smashwords

Comments
  1. Hi there ! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

Tell me stuff

