Review: Officer Down

Posted: 26/06/2017 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Officer Down
Officer Down by Erin Dutton

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: lesbian relationships, coming out, unsupportive families

I received a free Arc via Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Honestly, this review on Goodreads expresses my feelings a hell of a lot better than I could ever really express most of my feelings.

This was my first book ever by Erin Dutton. And I’m really really hesitant on coming out type books. Especially ones that have police cars on the cover. After reading this book, I’m so glad I keep getting rejected from police dispatch jobs if this is any inkling of what it could be like (even without me being openly out about not being straight) I wouldn’t survive a year with my anxiety and panic disorders (but then again, my local pd and sheriffs dept, I’m convinced are set up to make almost everyone fail the interview so I stopped applying even though with my typing speed they’d love to have me…their words not mine that they wanted me on typing speed alone). I appreciate that the author writes on things that she knows in this regard.

I agree with most other reviewers some of the dialogue was hard to follow on the internal dialogue but that might have been easier to follow had either the voices been a little more distinctive or a name been said in the dialogue. Being forced to re-read a piece of dialogue just to figure out who it’s about isn’t one of my favourite things to do.

I really enjoyed reading the biking scenes though and them getting to know each other. As well as the realistic bits about her knowing she’s lesbian but being closeted around her family because she knows how bigoted and unaccepting they are and still coming out to them knowing how they’ll react because she’s tired of hiding herself. It’s so real to feel that it’s nice to see it in a book. It still sucks to see it in a book but it’s nice at the same time that it doesn’t feel fake like some other coming out stories that some other books have had (that know who they are).

Overall, this was a pretty nice story with a nice sense of realness to it that didn’t feel fake at all with the coming out portions.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Smashwords|Kobo|Bold Strokes Books|iBooks|Google Play

Tell me stuff

