Review: The Daemon Lover

Posted: 09/06/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

The Daemon Lover
The Daemon Lover by Shirley Jackson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was linked to this story off of a blog I follow so I read it from here. That is my disclaimer. One of these days I’ll actually see if the library has a collection of her short stories.

I really DO like Shirley Jackson’s works. I adored The Haunting of Hill House (and thanks to the library now own it as well). The Lottery was also good.

I like how many different interpretations you could pull from this story.

To me, the story spoke out as guys who date girls and never follow through on their commitments so basically they turn into ghosts in the “relationship”. I’ve been in those kinds of relationships and they’re never really good. They’re good at deteriorating your mental state but that’s about all.

I’d love to give you guys a link to buy this story but I can’t find it anywhere except audio. So if you want to read it click here

Tell me stuff