Review: Daron’s Guitar Chronicles: Volume One

Posted: 23/09/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Daron's Guitar Chronicles: Volume One
Daron’s Guitar Chronicles: Volume One by Cecilia Tan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: drug use, alcohol use, sex, gay sex, mentions of violence

I received an ARC of this from NetGalley for a fair and unbiased review.

This was definitely an interesting book. It mostly takes place on the East Coast of the US particularly in the New England area (Northern East Coast for those who don’t know).

If you like reading books about gay men in the music industry, you’ll probably like this book. I’m ambivalent both on the topic of the music industry and gay men but can definitely enjoy one or both of them.

I also enjoyed the excerpt from volume two at the end of this book.

The way that one of the songs was described I felt like I could practically hear it which is a new thing for me when it comes to books. And was definitely a good thing. I like being able to envision things while I read. And the author definitely does a good job with descriptions.

OH! And it’s mentioned that at least one of the encounters with sex that condoms and lube are used. Which was fantastic to read about. Not only that the author included the taking off/disposing of condom (though not a fan of how it was disposed of at least it wasn’t the disappearing condom trick that books sometimes use). That was definitely a plus for me. That and the fact that it wasn’t looked down on to use condoms and lube.

This was a fairly enjoyable book to read.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Smashwords|iBooks

Comments
  1. […] Guitar Chronicles(Cecilia Tan) Content warnings for the series: gay romance Volume One Content warnings: drug use, alcohol use, sex, gay sex, mentions of violence Volume Two Volume […]

    Like

  2. […] Fourth, some neat reviews not on Amazon have appeared recently. One that just appeared, from Blow Pop’s Book Reviews kinda made us laugh here: “If you like reading books about gay men in the music industry, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff